African Schools Debating Championships

The African Schools Debating Championship is a continental competitions that features national and schools teams from Africa. The original African Schools Debating Championship was hosted the South African Schools Debating Board from 2007 to 2010. The African School Debate Council took on the role of bringing the competition back to life. The 2022 edition was the first to be hosted since 2010. South Africa has won four of the five championships and Zimbabwe has won one.


Co-hosted by Zimbabwe & Uganda

Participating Nations (Algeria withdrew)

2022 CHAMPIONS: Zimbabwe


Host (TBD)


Host (TBD)

The bidding process to host the 2023 & 2024 African Schools Debating Championships will be conducted in 2022.